Mass Effect series review


Mass Effect 1

A Turian

Turians are one of the three Councilor races in Mass Effect.

Bioware is the pioneer in modern RPG’s, Mass Effect being the prized jewel. When the game came out in late 2007, I was amazed by its immense detail and spectacular voice acting. In the game, you play as Commander Shepard, a fully customizable character voiced be Mark Meer or Jennifer Hale.

Pros

*Great voice acting, Raphael Sbarge stood out the most.

*Amazing plot

*Near full customization

*Funny at points, serious at other points.

*Not too easy or too tough

Cons

*Gained negative publicity due to sex scene (not at all graphic)

*Texture issues

Overall

I strongly recommend people to buy this. I expect this game will be the first a serious that stretches further than the planned trilogy. The Mass Effect universe deserves to have many games based off of it.

I give it a 10 out of 10.

Mass Effect 2

Mordin Solus

Salarians are one of the many species in the series.

The wait for Mass Effect 2 was hard and terrible (only time you’ll hear those words in this review). When the game was finally released, I hurried to the nearest game store and bought the Collector’s edition. I popped in the game, and played right away. In the first five minutes, I was hooked. Bigger actors provided their voice, a select few being Yvonne Strahovski, Micheal Sheen, Adam Baldwin and even Seth Green provided his voice again. The game takes your save data from the last game, so this game is more personalized.

Pros

*All star voice acting cast

*Improved combat

*Great dialogue system

*Great characters, some from the first game

*An ending that left you waiting for the next installment.

Cons

*Still a few texture issues

Overall

This game is beautiful, I’ve beaten it twice and have a third file waiting for any and all the DLC. I hope the third game is better though, as this one was only as epic as the first.

I give this game a 9.5 out of 10.

The future of Mass Effect

I have high hopes that Mass Effect becomes a tremendous series with a lot of games and more media. I do not, however, hope that they made a movie about the Shepard series. I know rights to a Mass Effect movie have been bought, but it still isn’t known if it will be based about Commander Shepard. Personally, I think the movie would be more successful about someone else. Also, there are three books that take place in the Mass Effect Universe. I haven’t had the pleasure of reading any, but I hope that soon I will. Once I do, expect a review from me. Also, some of you may notice I didn’t review Mass Effect Galaxy. The main reason for this is the fact that I do not own an IPhone, meaning I cannot play the game.

See also

*Mass Effect Wiki hosted by Wikia

*Mass Effect Fanon hosted by Wikia

Leave a Reply

