Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Review)


On November 11, 2011, the sequel to Elder Scrolls V: Oblivion was release in America and other areas. My day started with me driving to the store at 9:00 am praying silently that the game was still in stock. When I got to my local store, I rushed to the electronics section and looked to see two copies left. I quickly bought up on of the copies and drove home. The first hour flew by and in no time I had assured myself that I would probably not be leaving my house for the rest of the day. Skyrim Cover

PLOT

Dragons have returned to Skyrim…

I don’t want to spoil the game for you, so I’ll just give a basic plot for the main quest. If you fear my one sentence synopsis will spoil anything, then please skip the italics. Dragons have returned after lifetimes of extinction and only you, a Dragonborn, can save the world of Skyrim.

Along with the dragons, you can join some interesting guilds. The Dark Brotherhood returns, though they’re not quite the same. But having beat it, I can assure you that it is even better this time around. The Thieves Guild is back as well and their story is quite interesting. If you’re a fan of sneaking and lock picking, then join the guild and enjoy not killing your subjects.

New groups include the Companions, who are like the Fighter’s Guild but deadlier. My friends (yes, I have friends) enjoy the Companions but I haven’t gotten far enough into their story to say it is amazing. There is also the College of Winterhold, which is for the mages of Skyrim. You can learn great spells and such in the college and their missions are pretty cool, too.

Crafting

Alchemy in Skyrim is fun and easy to use. Just collect ingredients and mix ones with similar properties. In this game it is also easier to reenforce weapons and armor. Which is a definite plus.

 

Graphics

While I’m I firm believer that graphics shouldn’t harm a game in terms of review, I have to mention them. They aren’t the greatest thing in the world, but they definitely aren’t the worst. Environments are amazing and breathtaking, but some characters don’t look as epic as one would expect from a Game of the Year candidate. During loading screens, though, you can see high-resolution images of your favorite objects and opponents. There you can see every wrinkle, skin texture and the detail put in the clothing.

Future

This being an amazing game, I’m hoping there are lots and lots of DLC that allow for this game to be played for years. If the DLC will anything like Oblivion, you can expect interesting and an entertainingly long expansion that only adds to the game and leaves you feeling like it was OK to spend your hard-earned money on new content.

Gameplay

Swing a sword or shoot an arrow, the choice is yours. The game has amazing variety when it come to combat. You can cast spells, engage in a sword fight or even stay back and kill from a distance.

Pros

+ Amazing Main quest

+ Gripping Side quests that can last for hours

+ Beautiful environments

+ A great combat system

Cons

– Seriously, nothing other than decent character models.

Overall

Some reviewers may say the character models prevent the game from being perfect, but I think otherwise. It’s a great game no matter what the graphics look like. I give this game a 10 out of 10.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Review)

  1. Pingback: Bishop First Look: Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning « Bishop the Reviewer

  2. I like how you have taken time to detail your “personal journey” when buying this game we have all been there over many years “please be in stock please be in stock “. Nothing quite comes close to your first dragon battle!

Leave a Reply

