Bishop’s Top 3 (Part 1)


OK, so these next few days, weeks or months I will be doing Bishop’s Top 3. Part 1 will be my 3 favorite new shows from last season. So here we go!

Honorable Mention

Once Upon a Time was epic at some points of the season, but others felt too soap-opera-y. It still was an enjoyment to watch, though. Terra Nova was a fun show to watch, too bad it was cancelled. Same goes for The River. All of these shows were new, different and deserved being mentioned in this category. Terra Nova and The River will surely be missed.

3. New Girl

New Girl was one show where I hated it when I saw the commercials on TV. It looked stupid and unfunny, so I avoided it. Eventually, I was able to watch the 2nd episode, which I sort of enjoyed. As the show progressed, I began to enjoy the majority of the characters. The stupidity changed to quirkiness, and I was eventually engrossed in the series. My two favorite characters would have to be Nick and Schmidt. I can’t wait to watch next season, which will hopefully be as good as the last half of the season. Now on to #2!

 

2. Person of Interest

What can I say, I love a good action show. This stars Jim Caviezel, also known for playing Jesus in Mel Gibson’s film, The Passion of the Christ. In the show he sort of reminds me of Batman, which may be due to the series being created by Jonathan Nolan, writer of those epic Batman movies. Each episode is like a mini-movie, a trait that made me love the short-lived series, Human Target. If you were unable to watch this show and you love action movies, I strongly recommend that you find a way to watch this. The finale may not have been the greatest one of the year, but it was still a great episode that set up many possibilities for next season. I can’t wait to see more.

1. Grimm

No one is probably surprised by this. It is the only TV series that I have reviewed twice. At least, I think it is. I have been doing this for quite some time now. Anyways, this show has everything I love. It is creepy, funny and has action. I know this isn’t everyone’s favorite show, but I love it. If you loved Buffy, Angel or any creepy, campy supernatural shows, you might just fall in love with this show too. It has great characters, episodes and progression. The first episode differs greatly from the last, to a point where it is evident that the show found its own identity. Grimm’s best feature is that there is nothing like it on TV. Yeah, yeah, Once Upon a Time deals with fairy-tales, but to a different extent than Grimm.

All shows mentioned here were great, but what were your favorite shows? Be sure to speak your mind.

5 thoughts on “Bishop’s Top 3 (Part 1)

  1. I tried liking Grimm but just couldn’t get into it. I may have a better chance renting the DVD set or something. Person of Interest is awesome and New Girl is surprisingly funny. I was worried that New Girl would be as annoying as some of the promos make it out to be but Nick cracks me up.

  2. Despite having been a big fan of BUFFY in the day and being most certainly used to the weird and unusual on television, I just couldn’t get into GRIMM. I have many friends who enjoy it, though. I wish that the current fad for shows with a fairy tale element didn’t make me run screaming from the room, but that’s the way it is. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bishop’s Top 3 (Part 2) « Bishop the Reviewer

Leave a Reply

