Opus Aria (Review)


This is the first novel from author, LL Lemke. It can be purchased on Amazon.com.

First off, I want to tell all my readers that you can contact the author on her blog at http://pogomonster.wordpress.com/ . Be sure to let her know of your opinions of her story because as an author, I know that’s what we crave. Anyways, now on to the story.

The story follows Aria Brayton, a highly skilled and genetically enhanced assassin with an AI named Piano. From the beginning, I found the lead interesting. She’s 23 years old and you immediately find out she wanted for murder, the one problem I have though, is her wanted poster doesn’t say how many killings she’s wanted for. Which I found to be a tad bit odd.

Anyways, back to Aria and her AI, Piano. Aria is a fairly like-able character in the beginning as well as her AI. You are informed by the author that they trust one another, which I do have a problem with. There are several pieces of information that you are straight told in a very boring paragraph. As a reader, I don’t want to told, I want to be shown. Changing this up turns a good story into a great story.

The story itself is interesting. From the beginning, Aria is on the run. From what you see at first glance, she has run away from some organization three years previously and is still being chased by these faceless baddies. In Chapter 3, she meets up with Light, an Opus (assassin) who had escaped with her that while back. I don’t want to give away too much of the story, so I’ll refrain from giving any more away.

A few problems I’ve had were the showing rather than telling, which I previously mentioned. I mean there is one scene early on where Lemke tells you the action instead of describing. It turns an epic, gritty scene into a dull one that sort of passes the reader by. Some of the dialogue doesn’t seem genuine, which is a common problem with most stories, but for the most part the dialogue is pretty good. One last problem is the price. I had a hard time buying this for $5. I have a feeling it will be difficult to convince people to take the risk and spend $5 on a story they may or may not like. Now I’m not saying that this should be free, no, far from it. I feel like the price of $3 would be best. Save the $5 price tag for your second story, once you have a small fan base.

I do enjoy many things from the story. Especially the story itself. It is unique, which is not so common nowadays. I like the characters, though I do feel characterization could have used a little more work. The story reads pretty fast, with short chapters that allow for many breaks. I love that because I’m the kind of person who can’t put a book down mid-chapter, so stories with too many excessively long chapters drive me crazy. Another thing I love is how so many things relate to music, especially the characters names.

Overall, this is an entertaining read. While it is far from the greatest story I’ve read, it is even further from being the worst. Now, I promised myself I wouldn’t pull any punches and give this author an honest review. With that I give this a 7 out of 10. This was a tough score to give because it is borderline 6.5 or 7, but in the end, creativity won out.

Anyways, if you’re interested in an exciting sci-fi ride, check this out on Amazon.com. You can download the preview which is four chapters long. If you enjoy it from there, be sure to buy it and support new authors! And for those who do buy it and enjoy, please be sure to tell the author.

13 thoughts on “Opus Aria (Review)

  1. That was a delightfully thorough and honest review! Do you do many reviews for self-published books? I ask because I am in the process of publishing my own book – although it will be a while before it comes out! – and I’m trying to get a feel for what kinds of reviewers are out there. Also, I was going through some of your recent posts and see that you’ve hit the 2 years of blogging landmark – congratulations 😀

    • I am willing to review any book as long as the author or someone else asks. So when the time comes and your book is published, I would love to check it out. Also, thanks for your kind words. These past couple years have been great and I hope to have many more years of doing this. 🙂

  2. That’s awesome! I will make sure the book is halfway-decent so you don’t die of boredom 😀 I’m also following your blog now – I have a feeling I’m going to agree with all your reviews/want to read or see the things you recommend, lol.

  3. nice review. 🙂 i agree that a unique story is hard to come by nowadays. i can’t remember the last sci-fi read i got but maybe i’d check this out. i’m iffy because it is not blow your mind type, as you said.

    • Yeah, I know where you’re coming from. Though, I think that’s the great thing with being able to preview the first couple of chapters.It really helps when you eventually make your decision to buy or not to buy.

  4. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award « Bishop the Reviewer

  5. Reblogged this on The Bishop Review and commented:

    Can’t wait to read my review of the self-published novel, The Artemis Effect? Then read my review of LL Lemke’s novel, Opus Aria.

    I promise to have more self-published novel’s reviewed in the future, the very near future. I mean near. And if you’re an author, looking for a review on your work, leave me a comment or send me an email. Anyways, hope you enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

