True Romance (Review)


This review was done on the request of blogger, good2begone, if you’re interested, check out his blog.

Now to Tony Scott’s film, True Romance. For those who have not seen this film, it stars Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette as a couple in love, with a lot of people after them. The movie was written by Quentin Tarantino and it shows with a lot of the dialogue. Even though the two leads were good, the ensemble cast steals the show.

Before I go on with talking about the cast, though, I think I should give you a quick overview. A man named Clarence (Slater) meets a nice, pretty call girl named Alabama (Arquette). The two fall madly and love and marry, and through a series of events , end up with a case full of cocaine. This case takes them on a wild ride that involves thugs, cops and a film producer.

Now, the cast. First, Gary Oldman was in his greatest role as Drexl, a drug dealing pimp. I can’t believe that Oldman actually did this, the same guy who has been playing James Gordon in the Dark Knight Trilogy. Brad Pitt plays a minor role as a stoner named Floyd and Dennis Hopper plays Slater’s father. Along with those three, there is Samuel L. Jackson, Christopher Walken, Chris Penn, Tom Sizemore and Val Kilmer. I mean, talk about an amazing cast.

This film, in an odd way, is the perfect love story. I don’t know why, but I fell in love with the two leads immediately. Slater is amazing and sort of crazy, which the same can be said about Arquette. I’m not sure why I never saw this earlier, but I am glad that I finally did. I do find it funny that many of the actors in this movie are in later Tarantino movies. Pitt was in Inglorious Basterds, Walken and Jackson were in Pulp Fiction (Jackson’s been in a lot). Also, Chris Penn was in Reservoir Dogs, which came out the year before, I think.

Overall, I loved this movie. I think based on the style, it might have been better with Tarantino as director, but that’s just my opinion. I find it strange how a movie with so much violence can have so much heart. With that, I give this movie a 9.5 out of 10.

12 thoughts on “True Romance (Review)

  1. Good review. I’ve always liked this movie. It really does show in the dialogue that it is a Tarantino script, but the directing lacks the punch of a Tarantino movie. It’s not quite as I imagine it should be. Especially the ending scene with the film producers. Don’t get me wrong, still a good movie, it just could have been a lot more directed by Tarantino.

    Does this mean you’re going to do Natural Born Killers review next? Tarantino script, Oliver Stone directing.

    • I do agree, and I did hear that the movie would have greatly differed if Tarantino had been director.

      I do intend on watching and reviewing Natural Born Killers, but probably not for the next couple weeks. I still have a few more movies that I need to watch and review first.

  2. I think the best scene of this movie is the conversation between Hopper and Walken. The dialogue, the one-upmanship, two great actors in a great great scene.

    • The more I think of it, I can’t pinpoint one scene that was my favorite. First it was the Oldman/Slater scene, then it was the Arquette/Gandalfini and now I’m not sure.

      I must thank you for requesting this review. If not for that, I would probably not have seen this and I would have never found such a great movie.

  3. Pingback: Actor Analysis: Brad Pitt « The Bishop Review

  4. Pingback: Tarantino XX Box Set: True Romance Review | The Filmster

Leave a Reply

