Haywire (2011 Review)


I love action movies, but what I don’t love is action movies where the female lead dresses in half naked outfits and fights hordes of people while her breasts giggle about. I feel it sends the wrong message to girls and boys, showing them that women are just objects. But that’s just how I feel.

Now Haywire was billed as an action movie starring a woman and in the trailers she was (:O) fully clothed. I know, I too was amazed. The movie is about a female agent who is betrayed by her company. She fights countless men and kicks their butts, including Michael Fassbender. The action scenes are great, but the lead, Gina Carano is not a skilled actress, at least in this movie. But I don’t think anyone actually watches action movies to be blown away by the acting and character progression.

Along with the sub-par acting from the lead, some of the scenes can be confusing and that affects the movie. Those are the two worst parts of the movie, but I feel the action and the message out way those. I do feel that they could have had a PG-13 movie if they had just cut out one of their F-bombs, but I guess they were looking for an older audience. This movie wasn’t the finest movie of its genre, but it is a step in the right direction for movies that star a strong female lead. I hope Carano’s performance can help open a door for young actresses to portray strong women without having to be half naked.

If you are tired of watching films with gratuitous nudity and horribly dressed female leads, you should probably check this out. Overall, I give it a 7 out of 10.

4 thoughts on “Haywire (2011 Review)

  1. I actually really liked this movie because it took a more realistic view of how this character would go about things. The actress wasn’t that great, but she wasn’t bad either. I agree that this is the first step in a very good direction in female action films. Bringing back the Sarah Connor type heroine.

Leave a Reply

