Fight Club (Film Review)


What’s sort of long and over one week late? This review!

I’m sorry for taking so long with this, but it took me a while to actually watch the movie. Now, most of you know how much I loved the story, but if you don’t, feel free to check out my review. Anyways, Fight Club is a film directed by David Fincher, starring Edward Norton and Brad Pitt. Like the book, the movie follows The Narrator (Norton) and his evolving friendship with Tyler (Pitt). The two start a fight club and after that, things spiral out of control.

I am Bishop’s aching fingers…

The movie is really dark, both visually and in story. The characters were brought to life perfectly by Norton and Pitt, as well a Helena Bonham Carter, who plays the love (dis)interest, Marla. Pitt stands out the most as Tyler. The character feels so well done the entire time. I felt Norton was good as The Narrator, but could have been better in the beginning. As the movie progresses though, you can see why he was cast. Also, I feel that the last 25 minutes of the movie was better than the last 50 or so pages of the book.

I am Bishop’s drooping eyelids…

I was disappointed that some great scenes were not in the movie, but I understand why they aren’t there. This movie is long at 2 hours and 20 minutes and any more content would probably have made it unwatchable. Still, I loved the scene about Marla’s mother’s fat in the book. I didn’t like Jared Leto as Angel Face, but that might also be because his role is really small in the movie.

I am Bishop’s growling stomach…

Overall, this is one of the greatest movies of the ’90’s, which in my opinion was the best decade for movies. It is not just an action movie, it is a psychological movie that leaves you with your jaw on the floor. If you’re one of the three people who haven’t seen it, you probably should check it out. With that, I give this movie a 9.5 out of 10.

I am Bishop’s finished review…I have no idea why I just did that. I probably should get more sleep at night.

3 thoughts on “Fight Club (Film Review)

  1. Pingback: Actor Analysis: Brad Pitt « The Bishop Review

Leave a Reply

