A website every author should (probably) check out…


is Duotrope.com. It is a huge website featuring some of the biggest markets and their contact information. Now I know what you’re thinking, ‘why would I need a website to tell me about markets like The New Yorker or Asimov’s?” You probably don’t, but Duotrope provides much more. It gives stats and shows you that there are so many more markets out there, especially for short fiction authors and poets.

The website includes things like basic pay rates and the amount of reported acceptance. But I haven’t even gotten to the best part, it’s entirely free! Well, not exactly as it runs on donations made by people like you and me. On a sad note, I’m currently broke, so I can’t really afford to spend much money for things, but I did spare what I could. I have donated one dollar to the website and I hope to donate more later.

If you’re interested in this website, check out the link on my side bar. If the image doesn’t load or something, feel free to click this link, https://duotrope.com/

Ω…I don’t know why I put that there.

Now, onto another question. Would you be willing to send you’re short fiction to me for consideration? I don’t mean right now, but in the future, like a year or two. After most of college is done and I have some money. I’m just asking because as time has gone on, I’ve realized how much my passion for writing dictates what I do and the fact that nothing would make me happier than to see other author’s succeed. I wouldn’t hold some huge publication, I’d probably only pay in token amounts or none at all. So basically, the questions I’m asking are; ‘Would it be OK if I had a market in the future?’ and ‘Would you be willing to do it for free or little pay?’

Please note that this is a fresh idea and that I don’t have any plans to go through with it until years into the future. I want to establish myself first and then help others get known or expand their fan base. Anyways, thanks for reading, and I hope to have my Midnight in Paris review done later today. Much later considering that it is only 12:56 AM right now.

2 thoughts on “A website every author should (probably) check out…

  1. I think I would be interested in something like that. You mean you would be holding like a contest, or publishing them in a collected works type thing? My philosophy is “the more exposure, the better”, so I think there are a lot of people who’d take you up on that offer 😀

    • Depending on the amount of submissions received and the layout of the website, it would either be a monthly release of several stories or a weekly release of one or two stories. That and I would probably have a yearly anthology for sale featuring the best of the stories. That would possibly be where the money would come from.

Leave a Reply

