We Bought a Zoo (Review)


 

We Bought a Zoo is a heart-warming movie with a simple enough story. Man loses wife and then buys zoo. There is obviously more to this movie, like the main character’s son getting in trouble at school. But more on the later. The film stars Matt Damon, Scarlett Johansson and Thomas Haden Church.

Now the film is based on a true story, and it holds true in some aspects, but many changes have been made. The movie takes place in California, but the events happened in Devon, England. Also, the movie starts with Matt Damon’s wife already dead, but in actuality, she died after they had purchased and moved into the zoo. Also, Benjamin Mee’s children were younger in real life.

While I prefer my movies to be accurate on the material it is taken from, I can understand the changes made here. The son’s age allows for conflict between father and son and Mee’s wife being out of the picture before the zoo allows for a romance between Mee and his zookeeper, played by Johansson. The acting was also good, with very well-done casting. The movie also succeeded in making the viewer fall in love with the animals, especially the lions, tigers and bear (dare I say it?). Oh my, was this an entertaining move.

Not everything was perfect, though. I thought the ending could have been handled better and I also didn’t like that the movie progressed too easily with every little conflict.

Overall, I enjoyed it. This is an entertaining movie to watch with the family. With that, I give it an 8 out of 10.

 

6 thoughts on “We Bought a Zoo (Review)

  1. It’s cheesy and overly schmaltzy beyond belief but Cameron Crowe and the rest of the cast seem to be having a lot of fun, which basically comes onto us. Good review Austin.

  2. Surprisingly, my hubby and I liked Zoo. We are huge Cameron Crowe fans…huge! I agree about it being cheesy, but despite not wanting to buy into the blatant feel good message, we did anyway.

  3. Pingback: We Bought a Zoo: Be Unpredictable, Do Something Crazy, Embrace Your Wild Side…Why Not? « My Film Record

Leave a Reply

