Grimm (Season 2 Review) [Part 1 of 3]


Hello once again. It feels like ages since I last reviewed something, so I decided to start with something that I enjoy. For those who don’t know, Grimm has returned! It aired last night (Monday) at 10pm. The series picked right up where the finale ended, with Nick Burkhardt confronting his mother and his girlfriend, Juliet, is still in a coma.

There were many enjoyable things in the episode. Monroe is still there and was able to add the same comedic presence in a shorter amount of time. The casting of Nick’s mother was great, you’re not sure if you can trust her or not and she looks like she could beat you up. Now, I’m not sure if it is because of the time being moved up an hour, but the show felt more violent last night, which I loved. Bodies were torn apart, blood was everywhere and the show appeared darker.

I didn’t like that episode was a little sloppy at first. I consider myself a fan of the series, but even I forgot some things and they didn’t really cover any of it. There were moments where I was confused, which is never good for any show. It improved at the episode progressed, but that beginning nearly made my head ache. I also fear the series will fail on a night like Monday, so I hope it soon returns to Friday.

Episode Rating: 4/5

Season Potential: 4.5/5

Now you’re probably wondering why there are two ratings. Well that would be because one rates the first episode and the other is my estimate of how the season will rate at the end if everything goes right. At the mid-season point I will have another review seeing if the series is on track with my potential rating. I hope to make this the new process of reviewing TV shows, but I might not be able to do it with every television series that I watch. Thanks for reading and I can’t wait for more Grimm.

8 thoughts on “Grimm (Season 2 Review) [Part 1 of 3]

  1. Haven’t watched it yet either but am planning to tonight or tomorrow. This is a show that I really like but also at the same time annoys me because I always feel like it could be SO much better. I’m hoping the sophomore season will really take off in a way that the freshman season didn’t. Also, I LOVE MONROE!!

      • That’s an excellent way to put it. I love fairy tales (I have the whole Grimm collection) so I keep watching even when I get annoyed, lol. Monroe is just perfectly hilarious. I’m not familiar with the actor at all but I love what he does on Grimm.

        • I’ve never seen the actor who plays Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell) in anything else, but I think the writing for his character and his acting kept me watching after the first episode. As time has gone on, I’ve grown to appreciate Giuntoli as Nick Burkhardt and the supporting cast. I personally think their only big problem is the week to week writing. Some episodes blow me away while others leave me bummed by missed potential.

          • Nick doesn’t bother me much but the whole thing with his fiance/girlfriend does. It feels like it’s been drawn out way too long. And yes, definitely to some blowing away and others leaving one bummed.

Leave a Reply

