The Artemis Effect (Book Review)


This novel is by Kasia James. It can be purchased on Amazon, you can reach its page by clicking this.

A couple weeks back, I received an email from an author by the name of Kasia James. In this email, she told me about her new book, The Artemis Effect and requested that I review it. She also sent me a link to its Amazon page where I saw the cover and was blown away. I’m no expert on covers, but this looks pretty amazing in my opinion. The colors and silhouettes are so amazing that I can’t stop using the word amazing. After about ten minutes of staring at the cover, I scrolled down and read the description, which sounded much more interesting that anything I could put into words. So I’m copying and pasting the book’s description with the hope that you too will be amazed by it.

Three comfortable lives are shattered when a wave of inexplicable events exposes the fragility of human society. With an unprecedented celestial phenomenon, devastating high tides, a breakdown in global communication networks, and the sudden appearance of violent ring-gangs swarming through cities and towns, Kimberley, Scott and Bryn struggle to understand the vast events unfolding around them. Will they survive the Artemis Effect? Will they discover the truth behind the collapse of society before it’s too late?

Cool, right? I was lucky enough to have just a few dollars left on an old Amazon gift card so I was able to buy it. Now for what you’ve all been waiting for, my opinion of the work in question.

I really enjoyed many aspects of the story. The characters are unique and mostly interesting and I felt the author made enough changes to the dialogue in each different country so that it felt like there were actually characters from across the world and not just the author’s home region. I also liked the story itself, it’s an interesting concept that was well executed.

Now with most authors, word choice is a problem. I hate to say it, but that is also the case here. Though I find it unusual that instead of using too ‘small’ of words, she uses words that feel too fancy for a normal work of fiction. There were times where I had to use my Kindle’s dictionary to look up words to make sure I knew what I was reading. This is one of the most dangerous things when reading a book because it takes me out of the adventure, which means I’ll have to take more time to get back into it.

Overall, the cover is just plain amazing. I thought I should say that again before continuing. In all seriousness, this is not what you expect to get when you read a self-published novel…it’s better. Now don’t get me wrong, it isn’t perfect, but what novel is? If you have a few dollars to spare, I’d recommend this book if you’re interested in reading a unique story. With that, I give it a 4 out of 5. 

Lastly, if you read this book and fall madly in love with it, be sure to go on Kasia’s website. Because all readers have different likes, I would urge you to take advantage of Amazon’s sample feature to make sure it is a book that will interest you. Also, if you’re an author with a novel, novella or short story and you want a review, email me at:

 bishopthereviewer@gmail.com

or leave me a comment on my about page. Thanks for reading and have a great week. 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Artemis Effect (Book Review)

  1. Thank you! I really appreciate the feedback. To be honest, I find it something of a compliment that you found my vocubulary too extensive, but I am genuinely sorry that it disrupted the flow of the story. And I’ll definitely pass on to Richard Morden that you loved his cover design – he will be thrilled! 🙂

    • You’re welcome, I am really happy to have read the story. Richard Morden did an amazing job, easily one of the best looking covers I’ve seen in a long time.

Leave a Reply

