New Girl (Season 2 Review)


 

Plot

It’s sort of like Three’s Company, but with four people and a woman in the lead role. Well, maybe it’s not like Three’s Company, then.

Pros

The banter between the three male leads (Jake Johnson, Max Greenfield and Lamorne Morris) is great. They’re funny and play off each other nicely. Jess, the main character, has a pretty great best friend played by Hannah Simone. The apartment that they live in is also pretty fantastic.

Cons

I hate Jess (Zooey Deschanel), I hate her so gosh darn much. I’m not sure if it’s just how Deschanel plays her, or if the writing is just bad for her, but I hate her. Last season it was a strong disliking, a very strong disliking, but this season has gotten worse. The premiere was horrible (for the character) with the second episode being a step better, but she just drives me crazy. It may be that they intentionally do it, but I feel she is too one-dimensional. I know that’s how sitcoms are supposed to be (I studied them for a semester, so I know just a tiny bit) but sitcoms have been evolving, characters develop and big changes do happen. Things have happened to her, but she is staying relatively the same.

Score

While I could complain for hours, the show is still good. With that I give it a 4 out of 5. I enjoy the show, but hate the lead character.

Season Prediction: 4 out of 5

 

2 thoughts on “New Girl (Season 2 Review)

  1. New Girl is a really great sitcom. I think that Zooey Deschanel does a good job at portraying her character. She’s a terrific actress. I hope that this show lasts for a long time to come.

    • I have to admit, the third episode was the best so far. She’s a pretty good actress, I just hate the kind of character that she plays. I wouldn’t mind seeing this show last a while, though I fear the eventual Nick/Jess relationship could through a wrench in that plan. I feel like they under use Winston, which is unfortunate because he is pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

