Sinister (Review)


Plot

A struggling writer of true fiction moves him and his family into a house where a grisly murder took place years before. He soon discovers a box filled with “home movies” which turns out to be videos of family being murdered. He then starts to see some of the crazy things in his new house.

Pros

The acting is pretty good, which is difficult to say with most scary movies. Ethan Hawke is a great actor and that carries on here. The movie is actually scary, there were points when the whole theater screamed. Overall it is a well done scary movie.

Cons

I feel like they missed out with the ending, it had potential to be better, but it fell just a bit short. There was a few more minor things that I found odd, but I can’t really say them without giving away the story.

Score

4 out of 5

Fun Fact? There is no theater where I live so I have to head into the next city over, Sacramento. In the movie, when they say one of the families was killed in Sacramento, CA, everyone pretty much crapped their pants. That was cool.

14 thoughts on “Sinister (Review)

  1. Your review makes me curious, but tell me, does the plot end up making sense? I’m a bit tired of movies that don’t follow their own logic in the denouement and don’t want to be disappointed.

  2. Good review Austin. I was definitely scared for a good portion of this movie, but at the same time, I couldn’t really get into it all that much with the constant silliness and conventions of the plot/story.

    • As odd as this may sound, I think the atmosphere of the theater helps make it scary. I was in a theater filled with a bunch of high schoolers ditching school (presumably), so everyone was scared. It made the tension higher and scenes were scarier because the whole theater was laughing. I’m guess had there been more people my age, or older, there would have been less of that and the silliness probably would have peeked through. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  3. Pingback: LAMBScores: A Fake Sci-Fi Film with a Pagan Deity Leaves the Whole World Blind (Except One Guy) | The Large Association of Movie Blogs

Leave a Reply

