Actor Analysis: Brad Pitt


Brad Pitt is many things, a father, an activist and an actor among the few of them. The first movie I had really ever seen him in was Mr. and Mrs. Smith. I didn’t care too much for that movie, and I didn’t think too much on his ability to act. After that, I went awhile without seeing any of his movies. Not until watching Moneyball did I realize there was a talented actor there after all. At that point, I sort of went Brad Pitt crazy, watching four more of his movies and enjoying each for different reasons. Fight Club and Se7en are two movies of his that blew me away, they were well acted and showed a dark side of who is often called a “pretty boy” actor. When speaking of Brad Pitt one also must bring up his two weirdest roles. The roommate in True Romance and the boxer in Snatch. Those were both great movies made better with his screen time.

Best Performance: 12 Monkeys

An actor is usually at their best when they play someone who differs greatly from themselves. Watching a lot of actor interviews (I get really bored sometimes) I found that Brad Pitt really enjoys challenging himself with difficult, unique roles. This has never been more evident than in 12 Monkeys. Brad Pitt played a crazy person, but it didn’t feel like it was a performance at all. Brad Pitt was crazy for that 2 hour movie, there wasn’t a doubt in my mind. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, I would strongly recommend that you do.

Worst Performance: Mr. and Mrs. Smith

Despite everything I’ve seen so far, this is still his worst performance. The chemistry with his fiance Angelina Jolie was definitely there, but it felt like he wasn’t bringing 100% to the set. That often times hurts movies, this being proof.

Overall

Brad Pitt is easily one of my favorite actors. While his best movies were in the ’90’s, he still is able to make great movies nowadays (proof being Moneyball). Some people may not like him for his politics and everything else he says off movie sets, but I try not to care about that sort of stuff. Brad Pitt is a great actor and his films will be remembered for years to come.

12 thoughts on “Actor Analysis: Brad Pitt

  1. Gotta agree with you here. He can pull off so many different characters. Love him and Clooney in Oceans 11 and Burn After Reading and also thinks he’s brilliant in Fight Club and Seven as you mention. But yeah, the less said about Mr and Mrs Smith the better ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love Brad Pitt. I told my husband that if he ever ties of Angelina and comes knocking, I’m sorry but I’m gone. He said he understood. That said, his most recent TV commercial for that perfume? Ridiculous! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for coming to visit me when I was FP’d. I’m glad you don’t have to lie about your age!

    • I think that’s an unwritten clause in most marriages. ๐Ÿ˜›

      That commercial is very…odd. He looks like a homeless man trying to sell perfume, which I’m guessing is the style the director was going for.

      Your article was interesting and one of the few FP’s that I’ve read entirely. I can’t wait to see what you write next and who knows, maybe you’ll get Freshly Pressed again. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Pitt has always been an actor I’ve admired ever since I seen him in Thelma & Louise yet, he rarely gets the credit he deserves. Great choice on 12 Monkeys as his best. He’s done so many good roles but I’d have to agree with you on that one.

    • Yeah, he has some amazing roles. I could really have picked any (except for Mr. and Mrs. Smith) and I would’ve felt like I made the right choice. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I find it funny that he was the third guy cast in the Thelma & Louise role. Just think how the acting world would be without Pitt…

Leave a Reply

