God Bless America (Film Review)


Plot

Life has not been good for Frank Murdoch, he’s just been fired from his job and diagnosed with a fatal brain tumor. But worst of all, his daughter is a spoiled brat and he’s surrounded by idiots. Tired by idiots in daily life and television, Frank decides to shoot some people.

Pros

The acting is great and the film is well done for having a fairly low-budget. Joel Murray, the lead, does a great job as a man sick and tired with his own life and those people he’s had to share breath with for years. Tara Lynne Barr is also worth mentioning as his 16-year-old protegé. The relationship between the two characters in many ways is like father and daughter and it worked out nicely. The story itself probably speaks to a lot of people, I mean I’m pretty sure we’re all tired of those attention whores looking for their 15 minutes of fame.

While I would never condone violence, watching the characters kill people is often done in a funny way, but not too funny. Also, I quite loved the ending.

Cons

The movie isn’t for everyone. It sends a message that not many will like, and so keep that in mind. There is a scene where the two leads open fire in a movie theater, which I couldn’t help but be reminded of the TDKR shooting in Colorado. I am not deducting anything because of that, I just don’t want you to be caught off guard or anything.

Fun Fact: The film was written and directed by Bobcat Goldthwait.

6 thoughts on “God Bless America (Film Review)

    • The girl reminded me of people I used to know, which made me tolerate the annoyance she causes. I did love the part when he was watching tv, also when he’s having the debate with his co-worker. Thanks for reading. 🙂

  1. Some of it was a bit too preachy for me, but overall, a pretty good smart film that makes good-use of it’s premise. However, I think the William Hung jokes are all but dead in the water right about now. Good review Austin.

Leave a Reply

