Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind


Eternal_sunshine_of_the_spotless_mind_ver3Plot

Set in what looks to be modern day, we follow the relationship of two people (Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet). We see the good times and the tough times all while they are having their minds erased of the others existence.

Pros

What isn’t there to love? The acting by Carrey, Winslet and Mark Ruffalo is brilliant. The story is so unique and begs the question, would you erase you most difficult memories? I love movies that make me think the whole time, they’re great. This movie put me under a spell that kept me sitting in my chair for the duration of the film.. Thank golly I didn’t have to go to the bathroom at all. After the film ended, it really stuck with me. I mean it’s been days since watching it, but I can’t stop thinking about it.

Cons

What’s there to hate? This movie is close to perfect.

005bishopscoreboard

Fun Fact: Nicolas Cage was considered for the role before Carrey expressed interest in doing it.

Film Question: Would you erase your memories of a difficult event or relationship? Why or why not?

You know, I’ve thought about this for a while. Back when I was younger, I did a lot of stupid things and dated a lot of stupid people, these events that keep me up at night to this day. Erasing those memories would probably make me go to sleep at night, but everyone else involved would still know. Also, in an odd way, those events made who I am. If I forgot anything important in my life, I’d be a different person, a person I might not exactly like.

Anyways, what about you?

9 thoughts on “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

  1. So pleased Nicolas Cage didn’t take the role! The film question you put, I would say no I wouldn’t like to erase a difficult event/relationship. Although it was 3 years ago now so healed (broken heart) at the time I probably would have liked to erase it due to the pain it caused, but in the end things like that just make you stronger.

    • Yeah, a broken heart sucks. You’re right, it’s probably easier to say we wouldn’t now, knowing how strong we’ve become, but at the time I would probably opt to have some sort of memory wiping procedure done. Thanks for reading. 🙂

  2. One of my favorites of all-time and will definitely have you feeling the love-bug once it is all said and done with. However, it will also make you see just how relationships turn out between two people, no matter how happy or promising they start-out in the beginning. A bit sad, but still, very realistic. Good review Austin.

  3. I always try to finish this movie (I like what I see) but I end up asleep. Perhaps it’s because I don’t usually start it until around midnight. ha.

    Great review and I love the fun fact and questions at the end.

    I don’t think I would erase my memories. You make some good points about the other people involved.

  4. Pingback: Bishop’s Top 5 Films (Part 1) « The Bishop Review

  5. Oh, God, I didn’t know about NIc Cage. It would have destroyed the movie.
    Glad you loved this because it’s one of my favorite movies of all time. I’m right there right you. We are the sum of our experiences so you would totally be a different person if you erase those memories; you may even make the same mistakes and put catch up in a vicious cycle.

Leave a Reply

