Trainspotting (Film Review) [44 of 200]


This review does contain a bit of spoilers, and harsh language

Trainspotting_ver2

I have never been interested in watching Trainspotting, but I’m not sure what was the reason for disinterest. The film’s plot of friends doing drugs and trying to quit was interesting enough, but it just didn’t sound epic enough. After hearing plans for a sequel, though, I finally decided to get off my ass and watch it. And I’m sure glad that I did.

Promotional Image found on IMDBTrainspotting starts out and immediately feels like a music video. It’s an on foot chase scene and you have no idea what’s going on. But soon, the film flashes back and we see a bunch of junkies, and a baby, in a shitty apartment doing drugs (well, not the baby). You hear Sick Boy, played by Jonny Lee Miller, talk about Bond facts as he shoots up a lady friend, the mother of the baby. They are soon all in the clouds and we hear from Renton, played by Ewan McGregor. He talks about wanted to quit, and he does, but that doesn’t last.

One of the best scenes from the movie is when Renton talks about how when you are high from heroin, you are constipated, but when the drugs wear off, you need to “shite”. So Renton then finds himself racing into a dirty pub’s bathroom, which is covers in water and brown poo, LOLZ, I said poo. We hear his success, but soon see dread as he realized he just pooed out his butt pills. He then pulls up his pants and digs right in to the brown water. I don’t need to say more, but I nearly vomited while watching the scene.

The acting in this was fantastic. The whole cast is recognizable and they all gave real performances that took a real dark side. Kelly MacDonald had a small, but notable role as Diane, the school girl who Renton falls in love with. She was really good in this. Same goes for Lee Miller and McGregor who just blew me away with their presence. They were really, really good in this.

The film is stylistically great. There is a certain flare to this film, at times the visuals are nice and at other moments you get sick to your stomach. (Spoilers) The sickest scene, is when they find the baby dead in their crib. It’s not just been dead for a minute, but it looks like a few days worth of rot. The baby is obviously fake, but that doesn’t change the pain of the image or the pain in the character’s reactions. (End of Spoilers)

Some have said this film glorifies “the life” but I disagree. This is a real look at the pain and the torment that these people went through, especially back then with the HIV epidemic. This obviously isn’t recommended for kids (for the graphic nudity and disturbing images) but I think most adults should check this out.

0005

Fun Fact: McGregor was reportedly open to injecting heroin, but then decided against it.

 

25 thoughts on “Trainspotting (Film Review) [44 of 200]

  1. 5 out of 5? Superb my man! This is one of my favourite film’s and I still think it’s Danny Boyle’s best work. I love this film and even done a review written in a Scottish dialect.

    • This film just blew me away, I couldn’t even think of possibly giving it anything lower than a perfect score. I don’t know if Danny Boyle could ever make a better film. I’d like to see him try, though.

  2. Good review man. A wonderful movie that gets better and better every time you see it. Personally, I’m against a sequel, but it also wouldn’t be all that half-bad if Boyle was on board for it.

  3. Awesome review. I adore Trainspotting and Mr. Boyle. Great site by the way, I am now following. I recently started up my own film blog and would love it if you could check it out. Hopefully you’ll like what you see.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. šŸ™‚

      Sorry for taking ages to respond. I’m on vacation right now and have possibly the world’s slowest internet. I will definitely check out your website once webpages actually load. Silly internet.

Leave a Reply

