The Sting and the Pride


tsatp

Watching a film is something so natural for me, I just sit back and relax. If a movie sucks, I make sure to voice my opinion, or write about it here, and when it’s great, I want to scream to the heavens that [insert any actor/actress here] is the best in the world at what they do. After working on a film and being a part of the crew and seeing it completely finished is a breathtaking experience. A group of people working as one forms a sort of bond, it’s hard to explain. Outside of set, you’re just friends but on set, you tend to work with a sort of cohesion that powers you and the film you’re working on forward. I had the good fortune of working with a wonderful director/writer and providing sound with a wonderful co-sound guy. The actors were fantastic to work with and gelled really well together on camera. It was the most fun I’ve had working either on stage or on set. There were no egos, we fixed our problems and we got along great. Sure, many of us went our separate ways after filming concluded, but I’ve worked with and am working with some of them on smaller or equally sized projects. As well as keeping in touch with them because, like I said, they’re a pleasure to be around. But, the strangest thing happened with this short film, we were able to show it in front of actual, living and breathing people.

At first that sounds great, you’ll get the opportunity to see people react in person to your short. Which is great, people will surely love or like it and you’ll be proud. But nothing in this world is universally loved and you might have the tragic experience of hearing someone tear your movie apart. Luckily for me, I didn’t have to hear that, but I might as well have. So first off, the response to the film I worked on was nothing but positive, with one exception. After the film concluded and the credits began to roll, I heard someone nearby say, “thank God, it’s over.”

Now in a normal situation, I would have thought nothing of it, but this was a short I had worked on for months, the longest I’ve really ever worked on anything. It became the crew’s baby and we cared for it to the best of our ability, so hearing even the slightest criticism hurt and I immediately knew why some filmmakers and actors refuse to watch with an audience. It’s scary.

Despite that pit in my stomach, I still loved every second of the screening. I feel it drove closer the concept that not everyone is going to love a film, no matter how technically or emotionally strong it might be. I’m not sure what the fate of the movie will be now, that’s up to the producer and director, but I would be excited to see it make it into some small market festivals and such, one can dream, can’t they?

So, my wonderful readers, have you guys ever experienced anything similar? If so, I’d love to hear about it.

4 thoughts on “The Sting and the Pride

  1. I can only imagine how tough that would be. To hear criticism of something you put so much effort into. I have no idea how I would approach it. I know a very good short filmmaker out here (his latest short is nominated for an AACTA, basically our version of the BAFTAs) who will never watch his films up close with an audience. He will get up when his film comes on and head to the back of the room. That way he can still see if people laugh when they are meant to, but he does not hear any mutterings etc.

Leave a Reply

