I Might Sound Like a Broken Record, but Thank You (TT4)


Thoughtful Thursday

I know, I know, it seems like once a week I’m thanking you, the reader. But you have to believe me, you all deserve to be thanked. From the readers who have been subscribed since 2010, to the fresh faces that joined in 2012, to the new readers each and everyday, and all the ones in between. You all deserve to see me bellow from the mountain tops THANK YOU!

Now that we’re in a new year and people are making resolutions, I want to tell you mine. In previous years I’ve said things like post one review a day, or get more viewers, but I’m too old to worry about that kind of stuff. Now you might be saying, Austin, you’re not old at all. You’re right, but still the sentiment remains. I don’t care how many views I get, those are just numbers that don’t mean anything. Those numbers represent people, and the people matter, but those people are more than numbers. The people are so friggen much more important than those silly numbers. Every time that I think of the numbers, I’m forgetting about the people. So no resolution about bumping up my numbers because that just turns you guys all into a numbers game.

Posting a day is silly for me. Some days no post is required. When I give myself that requirement, my content gets worse and I get stressed. When I get stressed, I quit writing. When I quit writing, I quit checking TBR and when that happens, I turn my back on the readers and abandon ship for months, or even years. So no resolution about posting every day.

Now, with that out of the way, I can tell you my resolution for this year. My goal is to not sweat the little things. If I don’t check the website for a day, oh well, I can’t stress about it. Because, like I mentioned, stress leads to long breaks in posting. While I’m not going to force myself to post every day, I’m going to try to be posting very regularly, possibly daily. If there is not a review or article on any given day, don’t fret, there will be one tomorrow.

I can’t believe that this website is nearly 5 years old. I’ve grown so much since then. Five years ago, I was still in high school, still unsure of what I wanted to do in life and I was self-conscious about everything about me. I’ve grown so much in five years, and I’m so happy that many of you have been here to see me grow. I look and see a lot of people that I consider friends in the comment section and it makes me happy that five years ago I had some silly notion that starting a review website would benefit the world in some way. So once again, from the bottom of my heart, thank you.

2 thoughts on “I Might Sound Like a Broken Record, but Thank You (TT4)

  1. I can see why my non-review posts tend to be the most popular, I quite like coming in here to check on your Thoughtful Thursdays, especially since they’ve been so positive of late. Always much nicer to see positivity out there than negativity. It was a huge load off my shoulders when I threw out the schedule, I currently just have a loose goal of posting every other day on average, but some weeks that’s 2 posts and other weeks it’s 5. Writing should always be a fun hobby, never a tedious chore.

    • Yeah, I’ve enjoyed my last few thoughtful Thursdays and how they’ve been on the more positive side. Not forcing myself to post every day has been great. I didn’t have a post scheduled for this morning and I started freaking out last night and I realized nothing, not even myself, is forcing me to post a day, so I immediately relaxed. Then I watched a movie, wrote a review and got it out today. My reviews of Marco Polo and the film Hully Gully have gotten quite a lot of views, but my Thoughtful Thursdays and Top 5 Tuesdays have been getting more interaction in the form of likes, comments and retweets, which tells me I should probably keep doing those.

Leave a Reply

