Movie Confessions Blogathon


After checking out Andy’s post, I have decided that I will take part in this Blogathon as well.

In the words of Andy:

Nostra over at myfilmviews.com started this idea for a blogathon, details can be found here if you’d like to participate or see the the other participants.

Yes, I quoted Andy because I was too lazy to put it into my own words.

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Gone with the Wind. My mother loves it and has read book probably a million time, but I tried watching it with her once and was bored out of my mind. I tried watching it again, I finished it, but was equally as bored.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet?
Rear Window, Citizen Kane, North by Northwest, All About Eve, 12 Angry Men, The Grapes of Wrath, Metropolis, Psycho, The Killers (1946) and The Godfather are all movies I haven’t seen but hope to watch someday.

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?
Nope, never.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

Angelina Jolie, I love Brad Pitt, but her movies are never really good. Her acting is fairly rigid, in my opinion.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

Francis Ford Coppola. Yup, I have never seen a Godfather movie. I’ve just been too busy, and uninterested. I want to see it one day, though.

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

I can’t really think of any right now, A-Team comes to mind. That was generally disliked right? I thought it was pretty good.
Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

First viewing of Amazing Spider-man I probably was. I watched it with a friend I hadn’t spoken to in two months, which made us occasionally talk. No one seemed to be bothered though, most people were doing it too.

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why? 

Pretty much any movie with John Cena or Triple H. What can I say, I enjoy WWE wrestling. 😛

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles? 

No, I usually have subtitles of some sort when I watch a movie.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

The Godfather and Pretty Woman, I’m pretty sure I only have Pretty Woman because it was given to me as a joke gift.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

Hancock was a terrible movie that had a lot of potential. I bought the unrated version and hated it even more. Still have it though. 😦 I have a hard time tossing movies.

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

None. Well, I sit about 2 feet from my TV due to the small size of my room. It that odd?

Any other confessions you want to make?

Hmm, not that I can think of. Well, even though I claim to be a huge Tarantino fan, I’ve never seen the Kill Bill movies. I’m not sure if that’s a sin among Tarantino fans, but I don’t really have an urge to watch it. Also, I’ve seen the movie Mystery Men over two hundred times, that isn’t a lie. I’m not too proud of it (That’s a lie, I’m totally proud of it). Same goes with The Mask. I like quirky comic book style movies.

There we go, hope I didn’t miss any of the questions. Thanks for reading. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Movie Confessions Blogathon

  1. Pretty Woman isn’t actually all that bad. 200 times for Mystery Men? That is a lot, man.
    Kinda surprised about the Godfather, but what’s even more surprising is that you weren’t the only one that posted about that. I think once you watch it you’ll wonder what took you so long 🙂

    • I’ve heard Pretty Woman was good, not a fan of Richard Gere though. Mystery Men was amazing the first 189 times, since then, it’s just been pretty amazing. I really wanted to The Godfather about 6 years ago, so I bought the DVD but never got the chance to watch it. Now I can’t find the DVD in my pile of hundreds of movies, DVD and Blu-ray. I probably should separate the piles.

  2. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « Rorschach Reviews

  3. Tried to leave a comment before, but I think it my computer crapped out on me halfway through. Anyways, interesting post and I just wanted to comment on a few things.

    I haven’t ever seen Gone with the Wind and don’t really feel like I need to at this point

    I actually almost added Jolie to my list in the same category, but decided on Gwyneth Paltrow instead. Jolie’s been entertaining enough in some of her movies but she’s never really stood out to me as a particularly impressive actress

    I’d recommend seeing the Godfather at some point, I wasn’t as head over heels about it as most seem to be but I still believe it’s just one of those movies you have to see to form some sort of opinion on

    I also loved the A Team movie, it wasn’t exactly Oscar material but it was a huge amount of fun to watch and that’s what it was trying to be. I doubt a second one will be made but I would completely support it

    As a fellow Tarantino fan I won’t chastise you for not seeing the Kill Bill Movies, but from the sound of it I really think you’d enjoy them if nothing else for Tarantino’s manic directorial style and the amount of fun over-the-top action sequences in it.

    Anyways I posted a link to your post in my addition to this blogathon, cheers 🙂

    • I’m not a fan of Paltrow, I don’t think I’ve ever liked her in a movie. She’s OK in Iron Man, but they could have casted anyone else and have been fine. Another option was Richard Gere, but then I remembered that he lost most of his relevance. I used to love Jolie’s movies, and then one day I started watching them again and didn’t really like them. The Godfather is definitely on the list of movies I know I need to watch but haven’t. That list is way too long right now and I should probably try to whittle it down.

      I found that The A Team was the “perfect” summer. Tons of action, great acting from some, more actions, some crappy acting that’s overlooked and a bunch of military jargon that we pretend to understand but secretly do not.

      My friend gushes about Kill Bill, but I’ve always feared that I wouldn’t like it. It seemed a bit more over the top than my favorite Tarantino flicks.

      I checked out your blogathon and it looked great. I hope you had as much fun doing it as I did.

  4. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « My Filmviews

  5. The amount of bloggers participating in this blogathon is now close to 50, so reading all the confessions and responding is taking up quite some time (although I’m enjoying it a lot). Thanks for joining!

    You are not the only one who feels that way about Gone With the Wind, it was mentioned a lot. I was happy to have seen it, but never want to experience it again.

    Out of the movies you haven’t seen I only have not watched Killers and Metropolis. I would suggest starting with the Hitchcock movies!

    I’m not a big fan of Jolie either, although I did like her in Salt.

    I love gangster movies, so I did see the Godfather movies (not 3 yet), time to revisit all of them soon! If you had the Godfather set for such a long time already it’s time to watch it! 🙂

    I think I’ve seen one of those WWE movies, didn’t really like it. Can’t remember which one though…

    I’m really surprised you haven’t seen the Kill Bill movies. Why is that? Forget the classics, first watch those!

    • Wow, that’s a lot of people. Personally, I feel that Gone With the Wind is one of those movies that you have to see, even if you don’t want to.

      I’m a huge fan of James Stewart, so I really want to see Rear Window.

      Salt was probably her best movie, which isn’t saying a lot. She’s a decent actress, but she’s really overrated.

      I’ve seen parts of 3, which sort of confused the crap out of me. Probably should watch 1 and 2 before continuing. 😛

      WWE movies aren’t the kind of movies you watch for any sort of skilled acting. Personally, I watch them because they make me feel like I could become an actor because I’m much better than those horrible actors/wrestlers.

      I honestly can’t make an excuse for not watching them. I should probably check them out. I really need to make a list of movies I need to watch.

  6. Pingback: The Movie Confession Blogathon « Written in Blood

  7. Pingback: The Movie Confession Blogathon « Stuff From P.D.

Leave a comment